

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING HIGHLIGHTS October 19, 2022

The Organizational Meeting was held October 19, 2022. Kaylenna Spiess, Chief Administrative Officer opened the meeting, calling for nominations for Reeve. Councillor Smook was nominated and with no other nominations, was declared Reeve.

Reeve Smook assumed the Chair and thanked Councillors for their support. He called for nominations for Deputy Reeve. Councillor Hrabec was nominated and with no other nominations, was declared Deputy Reeve.

Reeve Smook called for nominations for Acting Reeve. Councillor Williams was nominated and with no other nominations, was declared Acting Reeve.

REVIEW OF COUNCIL RESPONSIBILITIES

K. Spiess delivered a Council Roles and Responsibilities Presentation.

REVIEW OF PECUNIARY INTEREST/CONFLICT OF INTEREST

K. Spiess delivered a Pecuniary Interest Presentation.

2022/2023 - COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Council passed a motion that the Committee appointments remain the same as the 2021/2022 term with the exception that the Agendas Committee consist of the Reeve, Deputy Reeve and Councillors in rotation and that Councillor Pederson be appointed to the Veterans Memorial Highway Committee.

COMMITTEE

2022/2023 APPOINTMENTS

	2022/2020 / 11 011111111211110
Agendas Committee	Reeve Smook
	Deputy Reeve Hrabec/
	Councillor rotation
Battle River Alliance for	Councillor Williams
Economic Development	Councillor Smook (alt)
Battle River Research Group	Councillor Pederson
_	Councillor Williams (alt)
Battle River Watershed Alliance	Councillor Pederson
Beaver Ambulance Society	Councillor Bruce

Beaver Emergency Services	Councillor Williams
Commission	Councillor Hrabec
	Councillor Pederson
D E L	Councillor Bruce (alt)
Beaver Foundation	Councillor Hrabec
n www.ni i n	Councillor Bruce (alt)
Beaver Hills Biosphere Reserve	Councillor Smook
Association	Councillor Williams (alt)
Beaver Regional Industrial	Councillor Smook
Services Corporation	Councillor Hrabec
	Councillor Bruce
	Jorge Mendoza
Beaver Regional Partnership	Reeve Smook
	Councillor Bruce
	Councillor Pederson
	Councillor Williams (alt)
	Councillor Hrabec (2 nd alt)
Claystone Public Advisory	Councillor Bruce
Committee	
County of Beaver Seed Cleaning	Councillor Bruce
Plant	Any Councillor (alt)
FCSS (Tofield/Beaver)	Councillor Smook
	Councillor Williams (alt)
FCSS (Viking/Beaver)	Councillor Pederson
	Councillor Bruce (alt)
Governance and Priorities	Councillor Smook
Committee	Councillor Bruce
	Councillor Pederson
	Councillor Williams
	Councillor Hrabec
Health & Safety Committee	Councillor Williams
	Councillor Pederson
	Councillor Hrabec (alt)
Highway 14 Regional Water	Councillor Pederson
Services Commission	Councillor Bruce (alt)
Holden Drainage District	Councillor Bruce
	Councillor Hrabec (alt)
Holden Economic Development	Councillor Hrabec &
Committee	Councillor Bruce
Intermunicipal Committee	Councillor Hrabec
(Holden)	Councillor Bruce
Intermunicipal Committee	Councillor Hrabec
(Ryley)	Councillor Williams
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

	T ~ 111 ~ 1
Intermunicipal Committee	Councillor Smook
(Tofield)	Councillor Williams
Intermunicipal Committee	Councillor Pederson
(Viking)	Councillor Bruce
Library (Holden)	Councillor Bruce
Library (Ryley)	Councillor Hrabec
Library (Tofield)	Councillor Smook
Library (Viking)	Councillor Pederson
Ministik Lake Game Bird	Councillor Williams
Sanctuary	
North Saskatchewan Watershed	Councillor Bruce
Alliance	Councillor Williams (alt)
Northern Lights Library System	Councillor Bruce
	Councillor Smook (alt)
RMA, District 5	All of Council
Rural Crime Watch	Councillor Williams
	Councillor Hrabec (alt)
Tofield Health Foundation	Councillor Smook
	Councillor Williams (alt)
Tofield Welcome & Inclusive	No Appointee
Communities Committee	
Vermilion River Watershed	Councillor Bruce
Alliance	
Veterans Memorial Highway	Councillor Pederson
Victim Services	Councillor Williams

Appointments to Agricultural Service Board

All of Council was appointed to the Agricultural Service Board (ASB), and Councillor Smook was appointed as temporary Chair. Bernie Klammer and Jordan Schmaus' appointments were extended for 3 years for a second term to expire in 2025. Administration will invite applications from active agricultural producers in the County to fill one public-at-large position on the ASB for a 3-year term.

2022/2023 Meeting Schedule

The proposed Council and Governance and Priorities Committee (GPC) meeting schedule was approved in principle. Unless deemed necessary, there will be only 1 Council meeting in December and only 1 Council and GPC meeting in the months of January, July, and August. In all other months, there will be 2 Council meetings and 1 GPC meeting.

Councillor Remuneration Policy and Councillor Telecommunications Equipment Policy Council has established policies to determine remuneration for meeting and conference attendance, as well as reimbursement of telecommunication expenses.

The last review of Council remuneration rates by a third party was conducted in 2015. Administration recently awarded a contract to Johnson and Associates to conduct a survey of union and non-union employee compensation in 2023. Councillor remuneration was not

included in the scope of the project. Council authorized administration to conduct a survey of Council remuneration rates (including reimbursement of telecommunications expenses) amongst the Rural Municipalities of Alberta member municipalities.

The next Regular Council Meeting has been scheduled for Wednesday, November 2, 2022, commencing at 9:30 am.

For more information, contact Beaver County toll free at 1-866-663-1333 or 780-663-3730.

Did you know...our website is a useful way to get the information

you need. <u>www.beaver.ab.ca</u>