Back to News Listing

Tofield Health Centre adopts enhanced masking directive

Posted on

Alberta Health Services Statement:

November 7, 2023

Tofield Health Centre adopts enhanced masking directive

TOFIELD – The Use of Masks to Prevent Transmission of COVID-19 Directive has been implemented at Tofield Health Centre, to help prevent transmission of COVID-19.

Effective November 7, enhanced masking is now required for AHS staff, physicians, volunteers, contracted service providers, and Alberta Precision Laboratories workers in patient-facing areas throughout the Tofield Health Centre.

Enhanced masking requirements are in place in all patient care areas across the facility, including in the continuing care unit which is co-located in the site.  Enhanced masking is also in place for common areas where patient contact could occur, including in hallways, the cafeteria and in the gift shop.

Patients and visitors are not required to wear a mask in these areas, however masking is required for patients, designated support persons and visitors in the emergency department and triage/assessment area.

No patient shall be denied services.

Wearing a mask is optional for AHS workers when they are in an area where there is no contact with patients (staff break rooms/meeting rooms, corporate settings, health records departments). AHS continues to respect the choice to voluntarily wear a mask in all areas and encourages those who want to wear a mask to continue to wear one.

The decision to implement enhanced masking at Tofield Health Centre is based on several factors including rate of hospitalizations, outbreak status, occupancy, test positivity, and situational context.

Site signage will indicate enhanced masking has been implemented.

The enhanced masking directive remains in place at:

  • Alberta Hospital Edmonton.
  • Cross Cancer Institute.
  • Devon General Hospital.
  • East Edmonton Health Centre.
  • Fort Saskatchewan Community Hospital.
  • Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital.
  • Grey Nuns Community Hospital.
  • Leduc Community Hospital.
  • Misericordia Community Hospital.
  • Northeast Community Health Centre.
  • Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre (including the Central Alberta Cancer Centre).
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital.
  • Strathcona Community Hospital.
  • Sturgeon Community Hospital.
  • University of Alberta Hospital, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute, and the Stollery Children’s Hospital (these hospitals are co-located).
  • Westview Health Centre.
  • Drumheller Health Centre.
  • Daysland Health Centre.

This includes continuing care sites that are co-located in the identified sites.

Masking is just one strategy out of a package of preventive measures. As always, all staff are encouraged to mask, stay home when ill and, to continue to practice diligent hand hygiene as part of ongoing efforts to keep patients, families and each other safe and healthy. For more information and specific guidance, please refer to the Masking FAQ.