Beaver County under Fire Restriction



Holden School

Public Education

Beaver County is located in the Battle River School Division # 31, a diverse school division dedicated to fulfilling the vision "Every Student, Every Day, A Success."          




Colony Schools

  • Holden Colony School (K-9) - Southwest of Holden
  • Iron Creek Colony School (1-9) - South of Bruce
  • Tofield Colony School (1-8) - South of Tofield
  • Viking Colony School (K-9) - Northeast of Viking


Catholic Education

Elk Island Catholic Schools (EICS), part of Alberta’s publicly-funded education system, proudly serves over 7,300 students in the communities of Camrose, Fort Saskatchewan, Sherwood Park, Strathcona County and Vegreville.

A small portion of Beaver County (west of Tofield and northeast of Ryley) is in the Elk Island Catholic Separate School Division.  Residents who wish to enroll their children in an Elk Island Catholic school should contact the EICS Office at or call 780-467-8896 or 1-800-996-9982.

Charter Schools

Holden Rural Academy (7-12) a rural Alberta charter high school.

More Learning Opportunities

Preschools and playgroups include Tofield Preschool Recreation Program, Little Monsters Playgroup (Tofield), Viking Preschool (Alberta Child and Family Services), Ryley's Tiny Tots Playgroup and Holden Parent Nursery Association.

Battle River Training Foundation provides access to college credit courses.